top of page


An award-winning author who grew up in the rural Ozarks,  Karlyle began writing fiction later in life and has written for different regional magazines and newspapers over the years. He has often been selected to speak at both professional and nonprofessional events, as well as radio talk shows and podcasts. His first novel, Confessions from the Pumpkin Patch, won the 2016 New Apple Awards Medal for General Fiction and was endorsed by Marideth Sisco, who is known for her work on Winter’s Bone, starring Jennifer Lawrence, a film which was nominated for four Academy Awards and won the 2010 Sundance Film Festival Grand Jury Prize.

will be released January 19 2024


Second novel in the Soul Encounters series


At the age of ten, in 1945, Ronald Dennison, the son of a backwoods Arkansas preacher begins having profound and religiously laden dreams about a strange redheaded woman. Throughout his life, she seduces him, calls him to preach, to become a televangelist, while she berates him for his sins of lust. Yet she holds a secret so dark that he dares never admit it, even to himself. The more famous and wealthier he becomes, the more he struggles with himself about his lust, his adultery, his fetish and his shame until, one day, his life reaches a breaking point and his torment can no longer be contained.


Coming Soon!! Revised Edition with New Cover

Updates will be posted on Social Media Sites


Confessions from the Pumpkin Patch

First novel in the Soul Encounters series

Growing up in a small Pennsylvania town, Lovella is an intelligent and rebellious child of the ‘60’s.  She adores her alcoholic and ineffectual father while despising her controlling mother and discovers, in her teens, that the most potent revenge she can take on her mother is through sexually acting out. When she goes away to college she meets Earl, an “ugly hippie” who takes her on a journey through life that she never dreamed she would take.  She discovers that things aren’t always what they seem, and life seldom turns out the way we planned. There are mysteries surrounding her past that she struggles to understand.  In the turbulence of the late 1960’s she is forced to face fears and prejudices she never knew she had. She discovers, in the end, that the simple small town life she left back in Climax, Pennsylvania was not so simple at all, and the true meaning of love and family is something only to be understood with maturity.

Coming Soon!! Revised Edition with New Cover

Updates will be posted on Social Media Sites

The Gulls Are Always Laughing

This is a poetry book about transition from trauma and turmoil through relationships to spirituality and the ability to laugh at one’s troubles. We have all fought through anguish, hopefully to become better citizens of life. The poetry covers my formative years growing up with abuse on a farm in the Ozarks, my adult relationships, and my transition to the shores of the coastal bend of Texas. I bear my heart and soul on these pages, but hopefully I also bear witness to the fact that there is a better way, and it is possible to overcome.

bottom of page